Iodine Global Network (IGN)

Webinar, 6 February 2020:

The Do’s and Don'ts in monitoring salt iodization and iodine status

Do you care about elimination of Iodine Deficiency? Do you work on efforts to iodize salt in your country? Then this webinar is for you!
You are invited to the English webinar:
“The Do’s and Don’ts in monitoring salt iodization and iodine status”
A webinar organized by UNICEF and the Iodine Global Network.

Date:
6 February 2020
Time:
12 PM GMT (noon), 7 AM New York, 12 PM London, 3 PM Moscow,
12 PM Accra, 2 PM Johannesburg, 3 PM Nairobi, 4 PM Dubai,
5 PM Islamabad, 7 PM Bangkok, 8 PM Manila.
Click hereAchtung Link öffnet sich in einem neuen Fenster to adjust to your time zone relative to your location.

Registration:
Hurry! Confirm your attendance by return email to Arnold Timmer, atimmer@ign.org, by Feb. 3. 2020

To connect to the webinar: see the link below.
Webinar on Guidance Iodine Monitoring
Thu, Feb 6, 2020 12:00 PM - 1:30 PM (GMT)

Please join my meeting from your computer, tablet or smartphone.
global.gotomeeting.com/join/165314661

You can also dial in using your phone.
United States (Toll Free): 1 877 309 2073
United States: +1 (571) 317-3129

Access Code: 165-314-661

New to GoToMeeting? Get the app now and be ready when your first meeting starts:
global.gotomeeting.com/install/165314661

Agenda

  • Background iodine nutrition programmes
  • Monitoring salt iodization and iodine status
  • Recommended changes in monitoring programme performance and impact
  • Questions and answers

Speakers

  • Mawuli Sablah (UNICEF HQ, Nutrition Specialist)
  • Jonathan Gorstein (Iodine Global Network, Executive Director)
  • Roland Kupka (UNICEF HQ, Senior Adviser)
  • Arnold Timmer (IGN Senior Adviser and moderator)

The objective

The objective of the webinar is to disseminate the new Programme Guidance on monitoring of national salt iodization programmes and iodine status to programme managers and other national and international stakeholders involved in iodine nutrition and salt iodization programmes. The webinar is based on the recommendations published by UNICEF in 2018 "Guidance on the Monitoring of Salt Iodization Programmes and Determination of Population Iodine Status"Achtung Link öffnet sich in einem neuen Fenster.

The “UNICEF Guidance on the Monitoring of Salt Iodization Programmes and Determination of Population Iodine Status” has compiled the lessons learned of decades of programme monitoring. It provides a set of recommendations and adjustments in the way monitoring should take place. The Guidance is intended to complement and update information contained in the WHO Guideline: fortification of food-grade salt with iodine for the prevention and control of iodine deficiency disordersAchtung Link öffnet sich in einem neuen Fenster (2014) and the WHO/UNICEF/ICCIDD guide for programme managers: Assessment of iodine deficiency disorders and monitoring their eliminationAchtung Link öffnet sich in einem neuen Fenster (2007).

Please share this invitation with your colleagues or anyone who may be interested in participating in the webinar.